Restaurant Review: Slice West Village

Looking for somewhere new to eat in New York City this weekend? Grab a slice at Slice located in the Upper East Side and in the West Village in Manhattan.

I first heard about Slice around the time of its Grand Opening in December 2009. Created by a fellow Cornellian, Slice caught my eye not only because I looove pizza but also because I had been looking for a pizza shop that was healthy yet affordable. I went to Slice West Village for the first time in May but it was so good that I had to go back. That, and the fact that they recently obtained a sidewalk seating permit. I went for the second time last Friday evening. Though I did not get to sit outside I was quite satisfied sitting right at the window. Before discussing my experience I will first provide you with a bit of background about the restaurant.

Slice, The Perfect Food is a pizza shop that specializes in fresh pizza made to order using organic and all-natural ingredients. They also cater to special dietary needs and food allergies by having gluten-free, lactose-free, and wheat-free options available. But wait, there is more! Slice currently has a “Pay It Forward with Slice” Program in which they partner with schools and companies to provide free pizza parties and health seminars that aim to teach children in less fortunate schools about health and wellness. In the inventors’ own words: “We look forward to putting a smile on all kids faces, one pizza at a time.” How’s that for social responsibility? 😉

Ambience. The restaurant is cozy and earthy yet polished enough so as to not make you feel as though you are in a forest. It has natural elements like bamboo table tops, natural/dim lighting, and earthy decor (use of wood and even a mini vase of fresh flowers at each table). At the same time it has a modern element as it is very clean-cut and simple. This juxtaposition of contrasting elements works beautifully and makes the space quite inviting. [Don’t mind the elaborate description; I majored in Interior Design after all. 😛]

Menu. One of my favorite things about this restaurant, besides the food of course, is its nerdy menu. It has a quirky feel that takes me back to Cornell – my home away from home. The menu is set up so that the appetizer section is labeled “Prerequisites,” the entrée section is labeled “Core Curriculum,” and the drink section is labeled “Extracurricular.” This is a very unique feature that ties in with their logo of a perfectly sliced pizza (which by the way carries into the way they cut their slices into four equilateral triangles) and of course their name. Call me a nerd, but it works for me!

Food. I started with their bruschetta composed of tomatoes, red onions, basil, sundried tomatoes, balsamic vinegar, and olive oil served with honey whole wheat pita bread triangles. This tasted pretty good considering the fact that I do not care too much for red onions (next time I will remember to order without). I liked that it was not heavily dressed with oil and vinegar; it was just right. The pita triangles were very tasty as well; they were lightly toasted, which added some warmth to the dish. I tried the “Novice Pesto” slice this time (the first time I had the “Intermediate Goat Cheese” slice which was good). It had vegan basil pesto, part-skim organic mozzarella, sundried tomatoes, and fresh basil on a thin herb crust. Delicious is not even the word to describe it. I loved the crispy thin crust, the great combination of wholesome ingredients, and the richness in flavor. It was really good! So good that writing about it makes me crave another slice.

I really enjoyed my experience at Slice. Everything – from the ambience down to the food itself – came together harmoniously. What’s more is that I was able to enjoy this filling and very satisfying dinner for roughly $10, which in the healthy food realm is quite a bargain. My only issues are with signage and service. The current signage – or lack thereof – makes Slice easy to miss so pay close attention because you are liable to walk right by it. Also, the service was a bit slow considering the little amount of people in the restaurant at the time. I did not mind it though because I was in no hurry. However, I cannot imagine how much slower it would be at its busiest. But I guess that’s the small price to pay for great quality food.

Buon Appetito!

Sasha

2 thoughts on “Restaurant Review: Slice West Village

  1. I love this place! Cheap, healthy, and delicious. I have tried a bunch of their slices and loved all of them 🙂 I think my favorite was the one with goat cheese and arugala 🙂

Leave a Reply

