Tip Tuesday: The Perfect Plate

By now you have probably heard time and again that the key to maintaining a healthy weight is portion control. Although this is partially true, what does it really mean and why is it so important? Believe it or not, our bodies function best when we are constantly processing food. This is where the idea of eating every two to three hours stems from. Eating frequently in a sequence allows our metabolism to speed up which in turn positively affects the performance of our organs and organ systems thereby enhancing our body’s overall performance.

Since we should be eating every three hours, we need to be sure to lessen our portions so as to not overwhelm our metabolism. This is where the perfect plate comes in. According to the half-plate rule, we should eat on an eight-inch plate where half of the plate contains non-starchy vegetables, one quarter contains carbohydrates, and the last quarter contains protein. This not only controls portion size but also guarantees a well-balanced meal. So before you dig in to your next meal, make sure your plate is “perfect.”

Sasha

6 thoughts on “Tip Tuesday: The Perfect Plate

  1. Pingback: Tip Tuesday: Stick to a Schedule |

  2. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back
    frequently!

  3. Thank you for some other informative site.
    Where else may just I get that kind of information written in such
    a perfect approach? I have a undertaking that I’m simply now running on, and I’ve been on the glance out for
    such info.

Leave a Reply

